Back from the Wilderness

Hello everyone!

Summer’s nearly over–I have only part of today before school begins.  I have worked through some of my photographs from the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and have included them below for you to enjoy.

My husband, Dr. Ferraro, and I took 14 students and 3 student helpers to the BWCA for a 6-day wilderness trip.  The trip is the first portion of Dr. Benham’s Liberal Arts Seminar (First-Year Seminar) entitled “The Necessity of Wilderness,” which will continue to meet until December.  The purpose of the trip was to form a common experience in the wilderness for the students to draw upon as they learn about wilderness areas and their purpose in the US and the global environment.  They will read Sigurd Olson’s Singing Wilderness, Linda Hogan’s Dwellings: A Spiritual History of the Living World, Aldo Leopold’s Sand County Almanac, and I forget what else.

The group with me includes student helper Cole, and students Kyla, Brenden, Erica, and Connor.  What a glorious trip, what a great group of campers.  Thanks, you guys!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 thoughts on “Back from the Wilderness

  1. Beautiful photos. Canoe tripping has been my favorite vacation mode for many years. We have mostly been in Kilarney Provincial Parka and Algonquin Prov park in Ontario. Temperance river and Lake look inviting.

    • Luckily (?), no group can have more than 9 people and 4 boats in the BWCA. We split up the 14 into three groups, each with two faculty or student leaders. So, my group only had 4 students and a student leader. 🙂

  2. I enjoyed your slide show and hope one day to see the beauty of our Western States first hand. In the meantime, your camping adventures took me back to the days when I used to camp. Only, instead of boats, we had horses in tow and rode along the river’s side. Thank for jogging the old memories.

Leave a Reply

